Episode 535: What Does the Global Church Believe About Guns? with Morgan Lee


The U.S. midterm elections were full of surprises. The Holy Post crew asks if the political side of the pro-life movement has hit a wall, and if the Republican Party is really moving on from Donald Trump. Then, new data shows a sharp rise among evangelicals who didn’t attend college and who don’t attend church identifying as Republicans. What does it mean? And a new book chronicles the rise of Charlie Kirk, Candace Owens, and the rage-fueled conservative youth culture.


Then, Skye talks to Christianity Today’s Morgan Lee about what global Christian leaders think about guns and self-defense. Her reporting on the issue reveals a wide spectrum of beliefs, how our perspective may be more cultural than biblical, and why dysfunctional governments elevate the appeal of guns. Plus, no one accidentally licks a toad.


New Holy Post merch - https://www.holypost.com/shop Latest Patreon content:

Christian Asks... Salvation and the Sinner’s Prayer - https://www.patreon.com/posts/74702525/ Getting Schooled by Kaitlyn Schiess: The Church Calendar 101 - https://www.patreon.com/posts/getting-schooled-74529955

News Segment 0:00 - Intro 4:26 - Psychedelic toads 9:24 - Midterm election debrief 22:33 - Conservative youth culture 34:01 - New data on evangelical Republicans

42:44 - Sponsor: Faithful Counseling

Get 10% off your first month at faithfulcounseling.com/holypost

Interview with Morgan Lee “Should Christians Own Guns for Self-Defense? A Global Snapshot” (Christianity Today) - https://www.christianitytoday.com/ct/2022/october-web-only/guns-christians-self-defense-mass-shootings-protection.html

Morgan Lee: https://twitter.com/Mepaynl

43:58 - Interview intro 47:42 - Article overview 51:38 - “God-given right to self-defense” 59:18 - Biblical basis for arguments 1:10:34 - Safe societies and effectiveness of government 1:14:42 - Credits

Links from news segment: Christian’s film, “The Girl Who Wore Freedom” - https://geni.us/TheGirlWhoWoreFreedom

“Please stop licking psychedelic toads, National Park Service warns” (Washington Post) - https://www.washingtonpost.com/health/2022/11/08/national-park-toad-sonoran-desert-hallucinogenic/

“How America’s conservative youth youth movement grew a powerhouse on the cult of rage” (Religion News Service) - https://religionnews.com/2022/10/31/how-americas-conservative-youth-movement-grew-a-powerhouse-on-the-cult-of-rage/

Data from Ryan Burge on evangelical Republicans -https://twitter.com/ryanburge/status/1588292184914432000

Holy Post website: https://www.holypost.com/

Holy Post Patreon: https://www.patreon.com/holypost