Episode 520: Phil & Skye Answer Listener Voicemails


What’s the correct definition of “woke”? What do Christians in the global south think about sexuality and gender? Biblically, when does life begin? When was America a Christian nation?


In this special episode, Phil and Skye respond to voicemails left by Holy Post listeners. Some are serious and others are silly. Plus, additional thoughts about the conservative movement from Episode 519. And, Phil explains why he feels like a celebrity Norwegian walrus named Freya.

0:00 - Intro


Animal News 1:40 - Freya the walrus 3:43 - Dead spider claws


Voicemail Q&A 5:43 - Q&A intro 7:05 - Angie: What does "woke" even mean? 15:53 - Brandon: How to describe what the Holy Post is doing 22:51 - Crisanne: Christians in the global south on sexuality/gender 30:54 - Dave: Finding community 33:16 - Greg: What are you looking forward to? 35:33 - Josh: Wise media consumption 42:27 - JT: What buddy duo are Skye and Phil? 45:41 - Lucas: Asian Americans in evangelical leadership 51:08 - Natalia: When was America ever a Christian nation? 57:46 - Nick: Biblically, when does life begin? 1:04:07 - Terry: Jesus showing up in 2022


Wrap-up 1:10:55 - Additional thoughts on the conservative movement from episode 519 1:21:30 - Credits

Stories and resources mentioned: Freya the walrus- https://www.nbcnews.com/news/world/freya-the-walrus-norway-sinking-boats-rcna40174


Dead spider claws - https://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/scientists-use-dead-spiders-to-grip-objects-180980498/


"The Great Awokening" (Vox) - https://www.vox.com/2019/3/22/18259865/great-awokening-white-liberals-race-polling-trump-2020


The Lausanne Covenant - https://lausanne.org/content/covenant/lausanne-covenant


What in the World? Episode 1: The Kingdom of God - https://www.holypost.com/post/what-in-the-world-episode-1-the-kingdom-of-god-with-ruth-padilla-deborst


Voxology Podcast (Mike Erre) - https://voxologypodcast.com/


The Movie Proposal Podcast - https://www.holypost.com/movie-proposal-podcast


Holy Post episode 519: How Reaganism Won the Church & Skye's New Book - https://www.holypost.com/post/episode-519-how-reaganism-won-the-church-skye-s-new-book


"What If Jesus Was Serious About the Church?" - https://amzn.to/3PNlVI6


Holy Post website: https://www.holypost.com/ Holy Post Patreon: https://www.patreon.com/holypost

The Holy Post is supported by our listeners. We may earn affiliate commissions through links listed here. As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.